Moderate Your Event
IN THIS ARTICLE
How to block someone from the event room
You can click on the ••• icon next to a profile either on the Chat tab or the People tab. This will display the option to Block. Just click to ban that person from your event.
Who can block people out of the event room?
In order to block someone from your event, you must have moderation rights. This means that any team member or guest speaker assigned to the event can kick people out.
What happens when you block someone?
They will be disconnected from the event immediately and won't be able to join any event room again.
Note: They will remain a registrant (visible in your People dashboard) and receive any event emails you have enabled. However, when they click on their access link, they will not be allowed in the room.
Note: you can "unblock" someone by clicking on the same button again.
How to delete a message or a question
Same thing here, just pick a different option in the dropdown next to a message or a question in the questions tab.
How to edit an answer in the Questions tab
You've submitted an answer to a question, but you'd like to edit it for numerous reasons, an overlooked typo, missing information, etc. Easy, just click on the ••• icon next to your answer and click "Edit answer".
Why are there participants in the room even though I have not started the event?
Sometimes, before you start the event, you will see people connected to the room, but don't worry, they cannot access the room or see you.
- If they have the green dot next to their name, they are connected and on the waiting page. The waiting page will show a countdown until the start of the event and as soon as you start the event, the page will automatically become the event room, they don't need to refresh their page.
- If the dot is grey, they are not connected. They have connected at least once to the event, fell on the waiting page, and closed the window.
Moderating the stage and speakers
Joining the stage means you can share your webcam, audio, and/or screen to your audience. Please read our article on how to Manage webcam & screensharing for the step by step instructions 📷
Team members such as hosts and moderators, but also guest speakers who are assigned to the event, will have the option to join stage proactively. Their interface to enter the event is automatically displayed only when there are 16 simultaneous speakers or fewer. They can choose between two options: to Join event and participate or Join as a viewer.
- When they choose to participate, it means that they will jump on stage and have the possibility to share their webcam, audio, and/or screen with the other participants. To have everything working fine when going live, we strongly advise you to check the best practices.
- They can join as a viewer to share a presentation or moderate the event, without sharing their webcam, audio, and/or screen with the other participants. They have the possibility to change during the event, in order to join the stage.
For the event attendees, this interface can only be displayed if there are 16 simultaneous speakers or fewer and if Everyone can speak is selected. To do so, go to the General settings of your event and tick the Speaking permission "Everyone can speak".
Invite on stage
Hosts, moderators and guest speakers can invite other people on stage, as well as remove anyone from stage.
Enable camera or unmute microphone
For privacy reasons and better event management, no one can enable the camera or unmute the microphone of someone else. Each person must manage their own stream/stage settings. They will either need to do it themselves or you can request them to do it.
Hosts, moderators and guest speakers have the possibility to ask other people on stage to enable their camera or unmute their microphone thanks to the three little vertical dots next to their name.
They will receive a message (and a notification sound) so they can either accept by clicking on "Enable camera / Unmute microphone" or "Decline".
Sharing and removing from stage
Hosts, moderators, and guest speakers can also control what is shared during the event. They can each:
- share their own screen
- share a media
- share a whiteboard
- remove their own or someone else's shared screen from stage (but only the person sharing their screen can control their own screen)
- remove their own or someone else's media from stage
- control the video player for a shared media (MP4/youtube)
- pass slides for a shared media (PDF)
Please read more here on the Differences between roles.